New York, I think I love you.

22 Dec

Day 1

Twelve hours after COEUR Trade Show ended I was on a flight to New York City.  This was pretty exciting, being my first official business trip to the east coast. The 60-hour visit was jam-packed full of meetings, friends, and, of course, food.

I arrived about 8pm in the evening and was greeted by my beautiful cousin Stephanie & her boyfriend Robert at their first floor apartment inside a stoic old brownstone. We immediately went out for pizza and reveled in sharing idle family gossip.

My beautiful cousin Stephanie {right) and I, after a filling pizza dinner in Brooklyn.

The next morning, I had a 9am meeting with the accessory buyer for Free People. Keep in mind that I was still on west coast time and that 9am meeting was really a 6am meeting for me.  In spite of my sleep deprivation, the appointment was a success.  I enjoyed meeting the buyer for the first time & grew excited as we discussed ideas for Spring ’12.

Next, I went to a sales meeting with a new store called Treasure & Bond, located in SoHo.  It’s a  do-good retailer, dreamed up by Nordstom, where they strive to offer “something different in retail & philanthropy: 100% of profits benefit children in NYC.” Treasure and Bond is a retail heaven in my eyes and I am happy to announce that this meeting resulted in Della’s partnering with T & B!  We are currently featured on their homepage as a Holiday present pick! {www.treasureandbond.com}

Treasure & Bond

The rest of the day was filled with similar business-like meetings, Starbucks with an old friend who now works in PR, and lunch at Mario Batali’s “Eataly” with a gorgeous Ghanaian supermodel. In between all that, I quite literally bumped into an old friend on the street. Small world.

My friend Afua is a native of Ghana. She lives in New York and has a successful modeling career. Believe it or not, we met on facebook.

Thankfully most restaurants in NY have extra phone chargers.  When I met fellow designer Maxwell for drinks & dinner at Lucky Strike my phone had just died.  Although I have easily navigated my way through New York City on past trips, I felt like a lost puppy when my iphone died during this most important business adventure.  The maître d’ was happy to give my phone a charge, especially once he saw I was dining with a regular patron.

My friend Maxwell. Our business meeting turned into a night of art, wine & new friends.

Luckily I had enough juice left in my phone to navigate back to my cousin’s apartment in Brooklyn.

Gratuitous self-portrait at a SoHo art gallery.

Leave a Reply

